top of page
Search
  • harkerc

RENT

Updated: Aug 22, 2021


Choreographing RENT felt completely different from many other musical theatre experiences because the show is more open to interpretation when it comes to movement and dance. With the exception of a tango (which happens to be my favorite ballroom dance style), really anything goes in terms of choreography. I can remember having a similar feeling when I worked on Godspell, like I had complete artistic freedom. The absence of strict parameters is both liberating and terrifying. I decided to embrace the lack of restrictions. I used aerial fabric, dance body bags, and aerial pole dance in this production (kudos to Reagan James for singing while upside down!).


RENT became a kind of right of passage for many of us on the production; it is a draining show both emotionally and physically, and while the production was somewhat plagued with issues, the process truly united the cast and crew. I am eternally grateful for the experience; seeing how theatre makers come together for a common goal, despite obstacles, invigorated my commitment to the art form.

Photo Credit: ETSU Photographic Services


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page